A Never Ending Battle

A long time ago, I used to believe it didn’t matter how many battles you lost as long as you win the war. I was a fool. That kind of crap is for losers. No one has ever won a war by losing battles.

Whoever came up with that saying never took into account the cost of losing. Each defeat has its price. Each loss takes its toll on you, mentally and physically. It makes the next battle that much harder to fight.  You feel the urge to give up and throw in the towel. The odds of you winning the war become slimmer and slimmer.

These last few months have felt like I was losing the war. With each rejection letter, I found myself less inclined to write. I started to doubt myself. Any idea I put down on paper seemed like trash. I was on the verge of giving up. So what happened? Why am I writing this now?

All it took was a few words of encouragement from a fellow writer, one that I admire and respect. It got me out of my funk and back on track. It brought to mind a saying that I agree with wholeheartedly. You never win any fights by giving up. So I am back to writing and trying to promote my books. That’s going to be my main focus. When time permits, I will be post short stories,  excerpts and updates to the site but I make no promises.

Leave a comment

Filed under Article

Leave a Reply

