First Impression: Forbidden the Stars

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy. I wanted to get a science fiction fix. I chose Forbidden the Stars because of its product description and the tag “hard science fiction”.

Hard science fiction is extremely difficult to write. There are so many ways a writer can get bogged down. Some fall into the trap of focusing too much on the science and not enough on the story. When done right, hard sci fi is an absolute joy to read.

In the sample, Valmore manages to balance his characters, setting and plot with the science. I didn’t feel lost or overwhelmed by the tech. I especially liked the opening pages of the story. I am looking forward to seeing how they will fit in the grand scheme of things. I’ll be picking up this book next week and will post a review when I am done.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impression

Leave a Reply

