First Impression – Right Ascension

Yesterday, I was looking for a sci fi fix. I picked Right Ascension as one of the books to sample because of its product description and tags. I will be the first to admit that I’m a sucker for space operas and military science fiction.

To me, Right Ascension is more of a space opera. There are a lot of things in the sample that reminded me of other stories. For example, the Indomitable with its Omega Cannon brought back fond memories of Spaceship Yamato and its Wave Motion Gun. That said, this book might not be for everyone. Some people see space operas in a negative light. For them, any space opera is seen as a rip offs of Star Trek, Star Wars or Battlestar Galactica. That might explain some of the negative reviews for this book.

Overall, I liked the writing style. You get a handle on the characters and the back story. The pacing of the story kept me interested. There was one point where it seemed to bog down. The introduction of Admiral Atgard and the crew of the Apocalypse comes at a bad time. I wanted to skip this part and get to the action. Also, there were a couple of points where it felt like David was doing more telling than showing.

In the end, I decided to give the book a shot. All of its good points outweigh the one bad ones. I’ll post a review for this book when I finish it.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impression

Leave a Reply

