1st & 2nd Gen Kindle Tips and Tricks: Text to Speech

A user on the Kindle Boards came up with this tip. It’s more for writers though it can be useful to anyone who needs to proofread a document.

No matter how many times you read something, there is always the chance that you will miss something. Sometimes you spend so much time proofing an object that you keep missing an error that would be readily apparent to someone else. You can use the text to speech option to give you another perspective when you proof your manuscript.

When you listening to your books and documents, you will pick out problems that you missed when you proofread your work. It is very good at pinpointing dialogue that doesn’t sound right and words / phrases that have been repeated. The last time I used the feature, it found an entire sentence that I had repeated twice. Somehow I missed it when I proofread my book and Microsoft Word didn’t flag it as an error because there were no spelling mistakes or grammatical errors in the sentence.

Advanced Tip: There are times when you’re working with your hands and you need to follow a set of instructions. It would be nice to have someone there to read the instructions to you. Instead, you have to stop what you’re doing to read the directions. You can set up your Kindle to help you out. This might be more trouble than it’s worth for a lot of projects. Other times, it can be a definite time saver especially if the instructions are on a CD or web site. Simply, type or copy and paste the instructions into a document file then download it to your Kindle. You can now use text to speech to play them on your Kindle while you work.

2 Comments

Filed under Archived Tips and Tricks

2 responses to “1st & 2nd Gen Kindle Tips and Tricks: Text to Speech

  1. Awsome tip, once I figure it out on the new Kindle, I will try it. I need alot of help with proofing and have very litte support. If it works, it will be a great boon to my craft. Thanks again for sharing

  2. Yes! I tried this for my Work-In-Progress and it enabled me to catch duplicated words that I’d duplicated. 😉 Great tip!

Leave a Reply

