First Impression: Bliss and Grief

This is one of those times when I have difficulty writing these things. You want to say something nice and give a glowing review but you can’t.

From the product description, Bliss and Grief didn’t seem like my kind of book but I wanted to give it a try. I was right. I won’t comment on the story or characters. Someone who is a fan of romance might get more enjoyment out of the sample than I did. I will comment on the formatting of the sample.

The formatting could use a lot of work. The first thing I noticed is that everything seemed to run together, making it hard for me to read. Most of the time there are no indentations or extra lines to help break up the text. This is further compounded by a lack of page breaks or extra lines in between chapters. The chapter headings are not in bold or italics. The heading for chapter two is on the same line as the last sentence of chapter one. At the beginning of each chapter, the author lists the character involved in the chapter. This last issue is a matter of style. It might work for some readers and not for others. It doesn’t work for me.

It might seem harsh, slamming someone for the formatting of their book but I believe presentation is very important. My own books aren’t perfect but I hope that they look like I am making an effort to make my work easy to read. I’m sorry. Based on the formatting alone, I would not purchase this book.

Addendum: I checked the samples of the author’s other books. They share some of the same formatting issues as this one.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impression

Leave a Reply

