Review: Right Ascension

Last night, I finished Right Ascension. My first impression was correct, the book is a space opera. It shows in the plot, characters and science of the book. I enjoyed it but I  can understand why some reviewers said that it was a Star Trek ripoff. There are a lot of similarities but just as many differences. Sometimes, these similarities hurt the story.

The writing style is good but there are parts where the story bogs down. Most of these occur when the author does more telling than showing. I found myself skipping or glossing over some of these sections.

The characters, especially Admiral Daniel, are larger than life. For this kind of story, it works. I found myself wanting to know more about several crew members of the Apocalypse and the main antagonist. In some cases, I had to go back and read through a section I had skipped or skimmed over.

The plot, though multi-layered, is easy to follow. There is one anti-climatic moment involving the main antagonist that could have been handled better.

The minor problems I pointed out did not ruin my enjoyment of the book. I will probably pick up the next book in the series.

RIP Indomitable: Okay I admit it. I did want the Indomitable to live longer than it did. Yes, I know it was doomed. It’s like calling a ship the Unsinkable, you know it’s going to sink. It’s just a matter of when.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

