Review: Rider (Spirals of Destiny)

As much as it pains me to say this, my favorite character from Rider (Spirals of Destiny) is the unicorn, Majherri. My friends will probably never let me live this down but I want to explain myself before they kick down my door and drag me off for some re-education over shots of tequila.

Majherri is not like the unicorns you know from other fantasy tales. His personality, like his appearance, sets him apart from the herd. He and this book are a different breed.

Majherri and all of the characters are interesting, well thought out and most of all human. Kayleigh, the other main character, is also outstanding. Even the stereotypical adversary who has it in for the heroine is fleshed out and believable.

The setting is fresh and new. The author paints a vivid picture of the world and the society. A few things were missing that would have made the story more enjoyable for me. You know there are sorcerers and sorceresses but you know very little about them. I can understand why the author did this. The world is seen through the characters’ eyes. There is no all knowing narrator to give us answers. It helps set the tone for the book.

As for the writing style, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It for a reason why I read the book so fast. It is definitely a page turner. The descriptions and scenes were clear as crystal and easy for me to visualize.

The plot might not be new but it works. It is made more enjoyable by the unique characters, setting and stellar writing.

I’m glad I read this book. I can’t wait for the next book in this series. Well, that’s all I got. I hear them coming for me now. If you don’t hear from me in a day or two, you know the reason why. Damn unicorns…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

