First Impression: Bedtime Stories for the Apocalypse

I generally don’t read short stories unless they are part of an anthology and/or written by an author I know and like. It’s hard to judge how good a short story collection will be based on reading a sample or one story. Even though you will get a a taste of an author’s writing style, there is no guarantee the other stories in the collection will be as good. They could be better or worse. Also, some stories will resonate with you more than others. With that in mind, I took a look at Bedtime Stories for the Apocalypse.

Shiners is the first story in the book. It is a very well written piece. What stood out the most for me is the author’s ability to set the scene and describe what’s going on. I liked the direction the story was taking and where the characters were going. Unfortunately, the story is larger than the sample. This is one of those occasions where I wished Amazon let an author pick how much of his or her book appeared in the sample. It would have been nice to finish the story.

Even though I liked what little I read, I’m going to be putting this one on the back burner for a while. I’m just not in the mood to read a short story collections or a long epics. When I am, Bedtime Stories for the Apocalypse will move to the top of my list.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impression

Leave a Reply

