Author Spotlight: David Eddings

A long time ago, my aunt let me borrow the first book in the Belagariad series. It was first introduction to the work of David Eddings. Up until that time, I was reading the likes of Tolkien, Donaldson, Howard and Leiber. I gave Pawn of Prophecy a try and I was hooked.

For me, there are two things that set David Eddings apart from the rest. The first was his cast of characters. In every one of his books, I find myself drawn to his characters. I care about what happens to them as I watch them grow and change over the course of a book or series. Each one had goals, motivations and a unique personality.  The other thing that I liked a lot was the dialogue and interplay between the characters. Many times, the dialogue made a scene come alive for me more than any description could.

These are my favorite books and series:

  • The Belgariad and The Malloreon Series
  • Belgarath the Sorcerer
  • The Elenium and The Tamuli


A Little About David Eddings

David Eddings was born in Spokane, Washington. He grew up near Seattle, in the Puget Sound Area. He worked as a sales clerk at Boeing as well as a college english teacher. He also served in the US Army.

In 1973, he made his debut with the book ‘High Hunt’.  In 1982 the first book of ‘The Belgariad’ was published and became a big success. He went on to write many other successful fantasy novels and series.

Sadly, David Eddings passed away on June 2, 2009 at the age of 77.

In His Own Words

My current excursion into fantasy has given me an opportunity to test my technical theories [on writing]. I made a world that never was, with an unlikely theology splattered against an improbable geology. My magic is at best a kind of pragmatic cop–out. Many of my explanations of how magic is supposed to work are absurdities – but my characters all accept these explanations as if there was no quibbling about them, and if the characters believe, then the readers seem also to believe. Maybe that’s the “real” magic. That’s the basic formula for fantasy. Take a bit of magic, mix well with a few open-ended Jungian archetypal myths, make your people sweat and smell and get hungry at inopportune moments, throw in a ponderous prehistory, and let nature take it’s course.

From Jack’s David & Leigh Eddings web site

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Spotlight

Leave a Reply

