First Impressions: Pale Boundaries

I took some time off from writing last night to do a little reading. I was in the mood for a good science fiction story. I settled on Pale Boundaries by Scott Clevland.

Within the first few pages of the sample, the author did a wonderful job of setting the scene and introducing me to the main characters without throwing details at me. I found Terson and Virene interesting. It’s clear the two of them don’t fit in on Nivia. I’m looking forward to seeing where this will lead them.

The dialogue and writing style of the sample are engaging. There were only two instances where the author did more telling than showing. Sometimes, it happens especially in science fiction stories. In both cases, it was needed to bring the reader up to speed on things.

By the end of the sample, I didn’t have a handle on the plot. That won’t stop me from giving the book a try. If the rest of the book is like the first two chapters, it will be well worth the price.

Pale Boundaries is currently on sale for 99 cents.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impression

Leave a Reply

