Author Spotlight: Robert Aspirin

I had the honor and pleasure of meeting Robert Aspirin at DragonCon. At the time, I didn’t know who he was. He was the guy sitting next to me at the Hyatt bar who liked Jamesons. We spent the night drinking and talking about everything. He told me stories about the early days of the SCA. We traded tales about conventions we attended and talked about New Orleans. We even swapped a few jokes and funny stories as well as talked about humor. At this point, the conversation took a more philosophica;l bent. When we finally got around to exchanging names, I was floored. I had been talking with one of my favorite authors for hours and didn’t recognize him. I briefly lapsed into fanboy mode and even called him sir. He remined me that he worked for a living and insisted I call him Bob. Soon it was last call, I shared with him the one thing I never told anyone. I wanted to be a writer. To that Bob replied, why don’t you? That was the start of it all.

The next time I saw Bob, I thanked him the only way I could. I brought him a drink and shared a laugh with him. I wish I could have gotten to know him better or hung out with him away from a con but that is the way it goes sometimes.

Okay, enough reminiscing. What makes Robert Aspirin one of my favorite authors? It’s his ability to make me laugh. His stories could always make me smile. At the same time, they got me thinking. He could also be serious without losing that part of him that made you want to call him Bob.

My favorite series written by him is the Myth Adventure series followed by Phule’s Company. I also enjoyed his work on the Thieves World anthology series which he edited. It introduced me to a lot of talented writers who I still follow to this day.

 

Biography

Robert (Lynn) Asprin was born in 1946. While he’s written some stand alone novels such as Cold Cash War, Tambu and The Bug Wars and also the Duncan and Mallory Illustrated stories, Bob is best known for his series fantasy, such as the Myth Adventures of Aahz and Skeeve, the Phule’s Company novels, and, more recently, the Time Scout novels written with Linda Evans. He also edited the groundbreaking Thieves’ World anthology series with Lynn Abbey. Bob passed away suddenly on May 22, 2008. He is survived by his daughter and son, his mother and his sister.

From Myth Adventures

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Spotlight

Leave a Reply

