Author Spotlight: Joe Konrath

There are a lot of words I can use to describe Joe Konrath, all of them complimentary. He is an example of what you can accompligh with perseverance and hard work. He is also willing to share what he has learned over the years. Recently, he mentioned a lot of his fellow writers and their books on his blog,  A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing. Even though I am not one of those writers listed, I want to say thanks. You’ve given a lot of your fellow writers hope.

I will admit that I didn’t read any of Joe Konrath’s books until recently. I’m on a tight budget and generally stick to my favorite sci fi and fantasy authors. After reading the blurb for The List, I download a copy for my Kindle. I throughly enjoyed the book. It was one of those times when I was so wrapped up in a story that I finished it in less than a day. That book alone was enough for me to add him to my list of favorite authors.

 

Words from Joe Konrath

I’m a thriller author. There’s a word for a writer who never gives up… published. (From his blog)

Biography

Joseph Andrew Konrath was born in Skokie, IL in 1970. He graduated from Columbia College in Chicago in 1992. His first novel, Whiskey Sour (2004), introduced Lt. Jacqueline “Jack” Daniels. Others in the series include Bloody Mary (2005), Rusty Nail (2006), Dirty Martini (2007), Fuzzy Navel (2008), and Cherry Bomb (2009). The books combine hair-raising scares and suspense with laugh out loud comedy.

Joe is also the editor of the hitman anthology These Guns For Hire (2006). His short stories have appeared in more than sixty magazines and collections, and his work has been translated into ten languages. Under the name Jack Kilborn, Joe wrote the horror novel Afraid (2009). Joe’s been nominated for several awards, including the Anthony, Macavity, Gumshoe, Dagger, and Barry, and has won the Derringer, Bob Kellog, EQMM Reader’s Choice, and two Lovie awards.

His blog, A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing has had over 400,000 hits since 2005.

Joe is married, has three children and three dogs, and currently lives in a suburb of Chicago. He occasionally teaches writing and marketing at the College of Dupage.

From the JA Konrath / Jack Kilborn Official Web Site

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Spotlight, Blogs

Leave a Reply

