The Right Way

I spent most of the last two weeks working on the next Count Albritton story. It’s going well. I decided to scrap the short story collection in favor of another book. Most of my books start out as a short story. Each short story I planned to release could be used as the foundation for a much longer and better story.

A few days ago, I took a break from writing to talk with some friends. One of them asked me about how my writing was going. I knew he was leading up to something else so I waited patiently for him to get to the point. After an hour of babbling about how the current story was going and the things I was doing to help me write,  he asked me “Is that the right way to do it? Do all writers do it that way?”

The question surprised me. It was something that I take for granted. I’ll tell you what I told him. There is no single or right way to write. I wish it was that simple. We each have different methods and styles. What works for one person might not work for another. The trick is to do what works for you. The important thing is to write.

After you start writing, the next part is to tell your story in an entertaining manner. Again, there is no right way to do this. There isn’t a secret formula that will help you create an good story. It will take time and practice. There is no shortcut or substitute for hard work. You will have to discover your own style and what works for you.

Once you reach that point, things don’t get easier. The better you write, the higher your standards will become. You will always strive to make the next story better than the last. At least, that’s the way it is for me. Your mileage may vary.

Leave a comment

Filed under Article

Leave a Reply

