The Devil’s Advocate

It’s time for a minor rant. I’ve been good this weekend. I got a lot of writing done. In fact, I’ll be sending the next installment of the Incarnates and the Count Albritton story, the Hunger, off for some much needed editing. I decided to take a break and cruise by some of the forums I frequent which brings me to the point of this post which is nothing more than a minor rant.

I got drawn into a long and painful discussion where one person supported the idea of being able to use any image, artwork or photo they found on the Internet for commercial reasons without getting permission from the artist / photographer. The discussion went back and forth until the person finally said “I know you guys are right. Just because something is on the internet that doesn’t mean it isn’t copyrighted or protected. I was just playing devil’s advocate.”

This bugged me, for a lot of reasons. I never understood the need for people to play devil’s advocate. The devil doesn’t need an advocate. He already has plenty of lawyers and solicitors on his payroll. He doesn’t need any help. If he did, he wouldn’t be the devil.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t look at things from a different point of view. It’s good to have an open mind. I’m saying that if you’re going to argue a point or vehemently oppose something, you should at least believe in the view you are supporting. This isn’t a debate class where someone must take an opposing viewpoint and argue as if they support that position. If you must, for some reason, play the devil’s advocate, state that you are doing so at the beginning of the conversation. Some people might not want to play that game or spend time talking in circles. Believe it or not, many people do not like arguing just to argue. It also makes it clear what your views actually are.

1 Comment

Filed under Article

One response to “The Devil’s Advocate

  1. meh. I don’t believe for a second he was “just playing devil’s advocate.” I think he found a piece of art he wanted to use, and was looking for a way to justify taking it without permission. In fact, I believe he admitted that he had his eye on something.

Leave a Reply

