Change of Plans

I spent most of this week writing and working on my costumes for DragonCon. As luck would have it, things didn’t go as planned. It happens. I’m not going to bore you with all the details.

We’ll start off with the good news. The next book in the Count Albritton series titled The Hunger is being edited. I hope to have it published by Friday. I could have released it sooner but I thought it would be better to get the book edited again and fill the plot hole one of my beta readers found. I’ve decided to release a book or short story collection every month until November. The next short story collection will be called Hunter’s Moon. It will feature Count Albritton and Nerva. The stories will fill in some of their history and backstory. It is scheduled to be released in September.

Now, the bad news. I decided not to release A Simple Request. The book was going to be a collection of unrelated short stories. As I read through it, the individual stories were good but together they didn’t wow me. It felt like I was throwing stuff together just to make a buck. Now don’t get me wrong, I like money and all the things you can buy with it but I also consider myself a professional. Even though someone might find an error or something they don’t like in one of my books, I’m not about to produce crap or try to milk people for money. It’s just not my style. Instead, I’ll publish the stories for free on this blog or include them in my books as a bonus.

The other bit of bad news has to do with my plans for DagonCon. I’m still arriving on Wednesday but a lot of people I was expecting to see won’t be able to make it. Also, several costumes I had planned to wear won’t be ready in time. It’s not a big deal in the grand scheme of things but still a bummer.

Anyway, that’s all for now. I’m going to spend tomorrow haunting Shelfari and catching up on my reading.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under News and Info

Leave a Reply

