Balancing Act: Security

I’m not the paranoid type when it comes to security but I do err on the side of caution. After getting my email hacked last week, I decided to take a closer look at the steps I take to make sure my passwords and information are secure.

Everything seemed good. I was feeling confident which was a sure sign I had missed something. I looked at my recent post on PW’s site. It had my name and high school listed from my Facebook profile. When I saw that, it all clicked into place. How hard would it be for someone to figure out my high school’s mascot?

A lot of people don’t think about security questions. These questions allow you to reset your password and in some cases gives you an alternate way to log into an account. A lot of people pick a security question and don’t give it a second thought. If you’re someone who has a lot of information listed in public profiles, you have to think about this. Don’t use any security question, if the answer can be found in one of your public profiles or author’s bio.

As a writer, you have to balance what information you want to share and what you have to keep secret for your own protection. This is true even for any professional. Only you know how much information is too much to share. Think long and hard about what information you make available to the public. Once it’s out there, the information will be around for quite some time.

We know return you to our regularly scheduled programing.

2 Comments

Filed under Article

2 responses to “Balancing Act: Security

  1. I never answer those correctly. Or course I never remember my answer either 🙂 Bummer on the hack job . . .

    • No worries. I think it was a Facebook app or an email. Luckily, I caught and fixed the problem quickly. Only one spam mail message went out but I went over everything just to be safe. I generally use real obscure questions or common ones with answers that don’t match the question but a lot of people go with something easy to remember. Unfortunately, that stuff can usually be found out pretty easily.

Leave a Reply

