One of Those Days

It’s been one of those days. When I say that, I mean it in a good way. Even if things could be better, I’m in a comfortable place where my writing is concerned. Although inner peace eludes me, I am reasonably conent. When I have one of these days, I’m more inclined to talk about what’s going through my head. Stories beg to be told as my muse works overtime to make up for those days when she has nothing to say to me.

This morning, I have a clear idea of where I want to go with a story and how it will end. Now that the hard part is over, the fun can begin. It’s the part where the characters show me what they’re made of. Sometimes they surprise me with where they want to go and how they get there. This journey is one of the things I love about writing and telling stories. I don’t lead my characters to their destination. I point the way and let them take me there. That way I can enjoy the ride. When I’m done with a story, I hope people enjoy it as much as I did telling it.

4 Comments

Filed under Article

4 responses to “One of Those Days

  1. I shall forever think of One of Those Days with a smile. It all depends on perspective Thanks!

  2. Sounds like we have a similar writing style: let the characters tell us what’s going on. Those moments of clarity are the best. Trying not to be too gushy, but they’re what make the writing life worth living.

Leave a Reply

