Tales from the Post Office

I kid you not. Every time I go to the post office, I end up with a new story to tell.  Today was no different.

I woke up bright and early to send a package off to Atlanta for DragonCon. After waiting for the post office to open, I let the other customers go ahead of me because I had a bad feeling about this.

When it was my turn, the postal worker greeted me with a smile. I placed the package on the scale and waited to hear the damage.

“That’ll be sixty five dollars,” she said, still smiling.

I admit, the package was big but it was also light. I was expecting to pay anywhere from seventeen to twenty dollars. In the calmest voice I could muster, I said, “That doesn’t seem right. Why is is so expensive?”

“It’s irregularly shaped so we have to account for its girth.”

There was a shocked moment of silence. When I found my voice again, I said, “It’s a rectangle.”

The postal worker got out her tape measure and double checked to make sure the package was indeed a rectangle.

This is why I avoid post offices and the department of motor vehicles.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

