The Hard Sell

Every once in a while I run into someone who is genuinely interested in my books and writing. I don’t see it as a chance to sell my books. The hard sell never worked for me. The harder someone tries to sell me something, the less inclined I am to buy. It’s just one of those things. Back when I was submitting my stories to agents and publishers, I was told to come up with an elevator pitch for my books. It was something that I could say to a publisher or agent to about my books that would take a minute or less. I always felt uncomfortable pitching my books that way. I liked to do things another way.

I see it as a chance to talk about the stories I like to tell and read. I get to share all the things I love about being a writer. I enjoy these types of conversations because they are hardly a one-sided affair. I get to listen and learn about what types of stories they like. It’s a chance to talk about the stuff we both like about books and reading. Afterwards, I come away feeling good. Usually, I add a couple of books and authors to my reading list. If the fates are kind, I even sell a book or two. More often, one of my favorite authors ends up selling a book. That’s a fine by me. Like I said, the hard sell never worked for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Article

Leave a Reply

