Flash Fiction: A Love Lost

Love is my enemy yet I seek her out. The darkness doesn’t hide her beauty. Her smile reminds me of what we once had, what we could have again. I hesitate. I could join her. It would be easier than losing her forever. Instead, my hand tightens on the stake and I charge forward.


Author’s Commentary: This was my entry in the October Be Brilliant in 55 Words of Less contest, hosted by Austin Briggs. I came up with the story and the idea in about three minutes but it took an hour to get it right. I hope you enjoy the result.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Flash Fiction

Leave a Reply

