Beta Readers Wanted

Fear and doubt are the two greatest enemies of a writer. I’ve been battling them for the last few months. Usually, I can have help in the form of my beta readers. This time out, all of people I rely on for constructive criticism and feedback have either been too busy to read my books and stories. What little feedback I have gotten, hasn’t been helpful. The reason why someone likes or dislikes one of stories is important especially during the rough draft process. The feedback I get helps me shape a story for the better. I t lets me know what needs work and what I’m doing right. Sometimes, my beta readers will spot potential plot holes and things that need to be addressed. Without this kind of feedback, my confidence has suffered. I’ve been second guessing myself. Each time I’m about to send my book off to my editor, I look at the draft and wonder if it’s truly ready.

This weekend, I decided to take a break from writing to play a couple of games in beta and think about what I’ve been doing wrong. I’ve decided to put aside the Count Albritton story I was working on until my beta readers are free. In the meantime, I’m going to work on a few other projects that I left in limbo while I recruit a few more people to be beta readers.

If you’re interested in being one of my beta readers, fill out the form below. 1) You must enjoy sci-fi and fantasy stories. 2) You must be willing and able to give constructive criticism. 3) You must be able to put up with reading a rough draft. It’s going to be filled with spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors because you’ll be seeing the story before my editor. What do you get in return for this? My thanks and a free copy of the ebook when it is released.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under News and Info

Leave a Reply

