First Impression: The Blacksmith’s Son (Mageborn Book 1)

It’s been a while since I read something that wasn’t by one of my favorite authors so I decided to sample The Blacksmith’s Son (Mageborn Book 1). The cover wasn’t what drew me to this book. It was the overwhelming number of positive reviews and the short description.

The sample consisted of the Prologue, Chapter One and the beginning of Chapter Two. I had made my decision to buy this book midway through the prologue. From what little I’ve read, the positive reviews are justified.  It was a fun and very easy read with all the things I like in a fantasy novel. The only thing that threw me was the switch from third person in the Prologue to first person in Chapter One. That wasn’t enough to ruin my enjoyment or stop me from buying this book. At 99 cents, it is well worth the money. If I enjoy the rest of the book as much as I did the first few pages, I’ll probably pick up the rest of the series.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impression

Leave a Reply

