It’s Okay to Start Over

Writing is one of those crafts that you can only learn by doing. Each day you put pen to paper, you learn something new about yourself and the craft. I find that there’s always something new to work on or improve. Writers are always striving to do better. In some cases, this was what motivated them to start writing in the first place. They read a book or an article and said to themselves, “I can do better.”

For the last few weeks, I’ve been struggling with a story. It wasn’t a simple case of writer’s block. The story was fighting me. I knew what I wanted to say and do but the words wouldn’t flow. The few words that made it to the page made me think, “I can do better. I have done better.”

I decided to put aside what I had written and start over. Some might disagree with this and that’s fine. There is no right or one way to write other than to do it. Wrestling with a story doesn’t work for me. When a story fights me, it’s either not ready to told or I’m not ready to tell it.

I don’t feel like I wasted the last few weeks. Sometimes you need a clean slate or a fresh start. Who knows, I might even be able to use what I have already written for another story or in another form. The only downside to all of this is not having any new stories to post this month. We’ll try to change that before I leave for Atlanta.

Leave a comment

Filed under News and Info

Leave a Reply

