Favorite Channels

I wanted to do something a little different today. Here are some of my favorite youtube channels and why.

AngryJoeShow – Angry Joe offers great reviews for games and insight into the kind of things that gamers hate. He explains why things like paid dlc on release, microtransactions, and incomplete games sold at full price are a bad thing for the gaming industry. He also leads a thriving online gaming community dubbed The Angry Army.

Chris Stuckmann – Chris Stuckmann has some very insightful movie reviews. He won’t nitpick a movie to death. Instead, he’ll give you concise clear reasons as to why he thinks it’s good, bad, or somewhere in between. His Hilariocity Reviews, where he reviews movies that either just plain bad, so bad they’re good, or guilty pleasures are fun to watch especially when it’s a bad movie.

Cinemasins – I always laugh when I see one of their videos. So much of what they say is true. They’re one of the channels I go to when I need a little cheering up.

ComicsExplained – I’m a big fan of comic books. I like to think I know a lot about all the characters from Marvel and DC. Bob will take a topic, series, or story arc and go into detaill about it. They’ll explain concepts and things that might confuse the more casual reader or missed by someone who only follows certain titles. I can find videos highlighting something I didn’t know or things I was curious about like the DC Rebirth titles. It’s the perfect resource for someone who wants to learn more about a Marvel or DC character debuting in a movie or tv show without going to the comic book store and diving into back issues. Sometimes their videoes motivates me to track down a story or trade paperback to read which is always a good thing.

How It Should Have Ended – Another channel I tune into when I need a laugh. Again, a lot of what they show is true. The animation and voice acting is great.

JDfromNY206 – I don’t listen to a lot of wrestling podcasts. I just don’t have time to keep up with all the wrestling podcasts and youtube channels devoted to the WWE and Lucha Underground. Of them all, I chose JDfromNY206. He knows what he’s talking about and makes sure to credit his sources for news. His reviews of the WWE shows and Lucha Underground are entertaining. If you’re a wrestling fan, he’s worth listening to. He shares a lot of my frustration with Monday night Raw.

Jeremy Jahns – Jeremy Jahns is another movie reviewer. I love this man’s style and the way he reviews movies. A lot of his opinions match my own so I use his reviews as a guide for whether or not to see a movie that I’m undecided on. Also, the Star Wars cape which makes an appearance when either he discusses any thing Star Wars is the mark of a true fan.

moviebob – moviebob is really that good and his series of videos by the same name are worth watching. His review of Fantastic 4 and other movies had me dying of laughter but they aren’t for the faint of heart. He has videos on other channels and they’ll all worth watching.

The Young Turks – This election season is more important than most. It was how I stumbled upon the Young Turks channel. They’re a good source for news and information. Their political coverage is a little biased but they don’t let it get in the way of reporting the news and the facts. In addition to their election coverage, they have a surprising amount of quality programming and shows on their channel.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Article

Leave a Reply

